2016 Faraday Award Nomination Form Now Available

Posted by on Jun 1, 2015

2016 Faraday Award Nomination Form Now Available

ELECTRIC POWER and Prequalified Ready Employees for Power International (PReP Int) collaborate to highlight success stories in hiring veterans for the power industry.

Link To 2016 Faraday Award Nomination Form

The goal of the Faraday Award will be to recognize and honor the employers, programs and partnerships focused on elevating the careers of American Veterans in the energy industry. An application process will invite organizations to share their best practices in hiring and training Veterans. A distinguished review panel will judge applicants’ programs from across the country to highlight the “best of the best” and award them at the 2016 ELECTRIC POWER Conference to be held April 18-21, 2016 in New Orleans.

Michael Faraday (1791 – 1867) was an English scientist who contributed to the fields of electromagnetism and electrochemistry. His main discoveries include those of electromagnetic induction, diamagnetism, and electrolysis.

Although Faraday received little formal education he was one of the most influential scientists in history. It was by his research on the magnetic field around a conductor carrying a direct current that Faraday established the basis for the concept of the electromagnetic field in physics. His inventions of electromagnetic rotary devices formed the foundation of electric motor technology, and it was largely due to his efforts that electricity became practical for use in technology.

Albert Einstein kept a picture of Faraday on his study wall. And physicist Ernest Rutherford stated; “When we consider the magnitude and extent of his discoveries and their influence on the progress of science and of industry, there is no honor too great to pay to the memory of Faraday, one of the greatest scientific discoverers of all time”.

As part of the Veterans in Power initiative, ELECTRIC POWER will announce the recipients of the Faraday Awards at the annual conference in April 2016. The Faraday Awards will recognize and honor the employers, programs and partnerships that have successfully focused on elevating the careers of American veterans in the energy industry. Organizations are invited to share stories of success in hiring, training and retaining veterans through an online application.

Award Categories

The biggest successes in putting Veterans to work in the energy industry doesn’t always have to mean it took the most money to get there. Therefore, we want to make sure all organizations finding success with this are recognized for their efforts. The following categories will give organizations of all sizes the ability to be considered for the Faraday Award:

  1. Investor-owned utility
  2. G&T Cooperative
  3. Public power
  4. Secondary Education Programs
  5. Non-Profit Organization
  6. Public-Private Partnership

Criteria for Award

The winning programs in each category will be evaluated on the following criteria:

  1. Number of people assisted by the program
  2. Impact made on the people assisted
  3. ROI of the program
  4. Innovativeness or uniqueness of program

Link To 2016 Faraday Award Nomination Form

Comments are closed.